Community Forester Training

Each year, Friends of the Urban Forest offers a series of 12 classes taught by staff and premier guest speakers. Whether you are an experienced FUF volunteer, or are new to FUF’s programs, this is an opportunity to deepen your knowledge and experience with trees. Become a Community Forester, and become a leader in the FUF community!

A man wearing a sweatshirt that says Citizen Forester

A Citizen Forester (now called Community Forester) participates in a Tree Tour of the Duboce Triangle neighborhood, February 2011.

Our next Community Forester Training will begin on January 23, 2014.

The Training will happen on Thursday evenings and Saturday mornings, concluding March 9.  We’ll have no classes on February 13 or 15.

What is a Community Forester?

Simply put, Community Foresters are FUF’s elite “Tree Corps.” With their experience in the field, and premier training in many areas of San Francisco Urban Forestry, Community Foresters are leaders in the FUF volunteer community.

How do I become a Community Forester?

Sign up for our upcoming Community Forester training! Each year the training is taught by premier guest speakers and our own FUF staff members, and consists of six Thursday evening lectures, each followed by a Saturday morning field day.

How much will it cost?

The cost of the entire training is $250.  FUF will waive this fee for any volunteer who commits to spending 40 hours (about a half-day per month for a year) volunteering in a leadership position with FUF- we want you to put your new skills to work!

Otherwise, if you just want to take an individual class (Thursday/ Saturday combo) the cost is $45.

How do I register?

Contact Blake Watkins by phone at 415-268-0774 or by email with our contact form.

Class Schedule

Session 1: San Francisco’s Urban Forest

Thursday, January 23, 6-8p

Saturday, January 25, 9a-1p

 

Session 2: Tree Planting and Sidewalk Landscaping

Thursday, January 30, 6-8p

Saturday, February 1, 9a-1p

 

Session 3: Basic Biology and Pruning

Thursday, February 6, 6-8p

Saturday, February 8, 9a-1p

A mature street tree in front of a restaurant

Friends of the Urban Forest planted this Red Flowering Gum (Corymbia ficifolia) in Hayes Valley in 1981, the year we began. It’s still thriving today. Photo by Lisa Guide.

 

NO CLASS – Thursday, February 13 

NO CLASS – Saturday, February 15 (optional planting 9-1 Location TBA)

 

Session 4: Tree ID and Assessment

Thursday, February 20, 6-8p

Saturday, February 22, 9a-1p

 

Session 5: Disease and Pests and Fruit Trees

Thursday February 27, 6-8p

Saturday March 1, 9a-1p

 

Session 6: Advanced Pruning

Thursday, March 6, 6-8p

Saturday March 8, 9a-1p

Speak Your Mind

*